Testimonials

Modern Bed & Breakfast Kitchen
3/28/2016

What a great time! Great food, conversation. We want to come back again. My wife really enjoyed our time here.

Ray & Bev Gossen
Freeman, SD

3/26/2016

We have had a spectacular visit. The rooms are beautiful – the energy and space is just lovely. We felt like we were in our own home. Thank you for being dog friendly. Our little Boston Terrier made herself at home. Breakfast was perfect and our conversation with Jan (who is lovely) was very nice. We will tell everyone to stop if they are in the area and hope to back again!

Beth & Stewart Wilson and Mambo

2/13/2016

Thank you so much for everything this weekend. You have a beautiful home and made us very comfortable here, not to mention the delicious breakfast you prepared for us! This weekend was an unforgettable experience for us. Thank you so much.

Austin & Casey
Iowa City, IA

2/5/2016

Thank you for making your home available to use. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the conversation! Best wishes. We’ll definitely call again if we meet Donna and Magoo in Amana again.

Jim & Raelynn
Adrian, MO

12/15/2015

What a great way to spend our anniversary! Lovely place, great food, interesting town — why have we not been here before? Thanks!

Mark and Karenn Lehmann
Waverly, IA

12/13/2015

We had such a wonderful time! The food was awesome and Jan and Lou are such gracious hosts. This is by far the BEST B&B we have ever been to! See you again next year. Happy holidays.

Mark and Rhonda Seip
Springfield, NE

12/9/2015

Jan, this was such an enjoyable experience for a first time B&B. It was very personable for you to sit and enjoy your wonderful breakfast with us. The bedrooms and house are so homey and beautiful. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We truly had a wonderful time. Thank you. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Arlin & Connie Parsell
Kane, IL

12/3/2015

Lorin and I enjoyed our visit at your wonderful B&B. Such a homey and comfortable place to stay. We will visit again when we are in the area. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed visiting with you, Jan. Thanks for your hospitality. We will tell our friends and family about our stay. Merry Christmas to you and family.

Lorin & Dorothy Fox
Durant, IA

11/25/2015

We are grateful to have discovered and experienced your hospitality this Thanksgiving weekend. It is a touch of home and then some. You have talent in the many and varied aspects of B&B: from design to decor, dining to sharing cooking duties and conversation. You have a talent for creating a comfortable, cozy and friendly atmosphere. Thanks for sharing your talents with those (like us) who’ve been fortunate enough to find our ways to your doorstep.

Jan & Tom Norton
De Soto, MO

10/23/2015

Thank you so much for all of your hospitality for our family wedding. Your home is beautiful and helped us to create the exact ceremony we wanted. The breakfast each day was absolutely delicious. We truly appreciate your generosity.

Valerie Davis & Dave Tigges

10/1/2015

Your B&B is certainly well named – A Touch of Home! Joe and I, and my sister, Marylin and Jon had an absolutely delightful time! we loved Amana and the Herbert Hoover Museum! You are a fantastic cook – never had better breakfasts! We’d like to come back! PS – how great that you saved the left-overs for us!

Luanne & Joe Neuner
Olathe, KS

2/21/2015

We had an awesome time. Breakfast was great. Nice time visiting around the breakfast table with everyone. You both were great hosts.

Jeff & Barbara
Lenexa, KS

2/14/2015

Thank you for the great experience. As I told you before, we had a horrible B&B experience in Ankeny about 5 years ago. Your B&B changed our feeling towards B&Bs. Breakfast was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Jerry & Ashley Chase

1/28/2015

We cannot begin to express our sincere appreciation for the wonderful experience of staying at “A Touch of Home”! It is truly a founded expression of it’s name – HOME! Right down to the “family-like” feeling and atmosphere! Your Bed & Breakfast is so elegantly appointed, but most important was the connection and relationship we established with you – PRICELESS! After all, isn’t that what real life is made up of?…relationships!! Thank you! The accommodations, food and fellowship were all top notch! We will be back….with our family!! Many blessings, love and prayers to you all!

Galen & Ann Thompson
Minneapolis, MN

12/21/2014

A Touch of Home was certainly that and more. You have set a high bar for future B&Bs we visit. Beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and perfect location. What more could one ask of the first B? As to the second B, Breakfast…another 4 star performance, wonderful food and plenty of it. We were glad there were no scales in our room! Look for us again next time we’re in Amana. You were gracious and great. Thank you and Merry Christmas.

Pam and Joe
Overland Park, KS

12/13/2014

Thanks once again for your amazing hospitality. Your home welcomes us as if it were our home. We thank you dearly and look forward to our visits next year.

Susan and John

11/9/2014

What a wonderful weekend get-away! Your home is gorgeous and so very comfortable we felt instantly at home. Thank you for all of your kindnesses from the fabulous breakfasts to the shopping suggestions. Your four legged children made my visit especially nice!! The perfect weekend for 5 frazzled friends to reconnect and relax.

Holly Kaffenberger
Rochester, MN

11/7/2014

What a beautiful place and wonderful hosts. The nicest B&B I’ve ever stayed in. We had a wonderful girls’ weekend. Thank you!

Brenda Vosik
Omaha, NE

10/16/2014

This was our first visit to Amana, but it definitely will not be our last and we plan to stay at “A Touch of Home” again. What a beautiful, warm and welcoming place. The breakfasts were delicious and Jan is a fabulous hostess. We enjoyed the other guests as well and even had dinner with one of the other couples last night. We stopped here on our way from two weeks with our grandchildren (ages 3 and 7 weeks) in Utah and this was a perfect mini vacation before returning home. We will definitely recommend Amana and “A Touch of Home to our friends.

Sue and Leo Thomasgard
Port Edwards, WI

10/3/2014

Thanks for such a wonderful B&B. Wish we could stay longer! We are on our way home after a 2 week trip riding our bicycles and staying at Bed and Breakfasts in Wisconsin and Minnesota – all the B&Bs have been nice and each unique, but I must say Touch of Home is TOPS in amenities! Breakfast was great also!

Ann & Larry McGuire
Chester, IL

9/14/2014

Thank you so much for making a busy wedding weekend a little easier for all of us. It has been so enjoyable. Hospitality was warm and meals very delicious. Especially appreciated your gracious attitude in serving this large group in varied times!! The creme brulee french toast was amazing and Phil loved the hash. May God grant you many guests as you continue this venture. You were a blessing to Mark and Coby and our family.

Rev Phil & Evy Somsen
Fort Dodge, IA

9/8/2014

This was my first visit to a B&B. What a wonderful experience. Beautifully decorated and great breakfasts. Thanks so much, also, for the use of your bikes! Thank you.

Debbie
Villa Park, IL

8/8/2014

Not only did Jan and Louie so graciously invite us to stay in their AMAZING B&B, but we are beyond overjoyed that their son and our daughter united our families when they committed themselves, with God’s blessing, in marriage this weekend! Both Jan and Louie with the never ending support of Jonathan, helped make memories for us that will stay in our hearts for a lifetime. We look forward to making many more memories with the Caspers family (they have no choice. We share grandkids!) Oh and the B and B? Just look around and see for yourself that Jan and Louie have thought of, included and labored every single detail to make sure their guests have a most pleasant stay! Until next time…. PS – the breakfasts are fantastic!

Scott and Laurie and Gramdma B
Camarillo, CA

8/8/2014

You have a wonderful B&B. The room was very nice. It’s a nice location within walking distance to many of the interesting things to visit. I love the beautiful flowers all around the area. Thank you for a very nice breakfast. Thank you for making the potato pancakes. Everything was delicious. It was a pleasure meeting the guests and you! Everyone was very hospitable and friendly. Take care and God bless!

Marty & Candy Robertson
Rochester, MN

8/6/2014

When my sister and I left home to drive to the Amana Colonies, little did we know we would be treated with our first visit to a B&B. We felt as if we were in an apartment. All the comforts of home. What a wonderful experience. How will I ever be able to stay in a hotel again? Amana is an inspiring place to visit. Hopefully the rest of our sisters will join us next trip. The nice thing is, all 8 of us could stay at “A Touch of Home”. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. Blessings and the best of many years to come….

Terri Keopple
New Richmond, WI

7/25/2014

When we first decided to spend time here in Amana, all the B&Bs were booked. Jan was kind enough to inform us of an opening that came up and if it weren’t for her thoughtfulness, we never would have spent the night at such a wonderful establishment! We would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone! Jan and Louie are such wonderful hosts and make the experience of the stay feel like home. Breakfast was wonderful and so was the company of the other guests! We will most definitely be back again!

Trevor & Jacky

7/7/2014

We have stayed in B&Bs before, but this is the best so far. You have done a great job in designing and decorating. Thanks for sharing your home with us. We will definitely recommend “Touch of Home” to our family and friends.

Donna and Jan Logan
Burlington, IA

7/2/2014

Jan, this is truly a Touch of Home! You have a special way of making us feel welcome. We appreciated all the amenities, down to the purple hair dryer! And the best bed on our vacation! Great breakfast too! If we’re ever in Amana in our travels again, we’ll stay here. Thanks!

Mary & Bob Thompson
Highland, IN

6/15/2014

What a great place to spend our 39th anniversary! We so enjoyed your whole set-up here – the room, the access to the kitchen, the food, and especially your thoughtful and kind hospitality! You have really established an atmosphere that suits the name, “A Touch of Home”. Thank you!! God bless you with the joy of His love in Jesus!

Jon and Candy Winkel

6/5/2014

We felt so fortunate to have learned about your B&B. Not only is it absolutely beautiful but you have thought of everything! Food was delicious, hospitality was terrific, couldn’t have been better! Thank you so much! We would recommend your accommodations to anyone, any time!

Baile and Dan McGinnis
Topeka, KS

5/27/2014

Thank you for a lovely time at your B&B. You covered all of the A, B, Cs of inn keeping – Accommodations, Best breakfast, Clean and Comfortable. What more could one need. We’ll see you again. Keep up the good work. “Enjoy” what you do.

Nancy and Jim
Cincinnati, OH

5/20/2014

Very nice place. Excellent breakfast. Never liked B&Bs but you sold me on this one. We will be back.

Dave & Marie Bartel
MB, Canada

5/5/2014

First time to stay in a B&B. I am hooked!! It is just trying to find one as nice as this. Every detail of this place is wonderful. The room, the private accommodations, the breakfast. How lucky we were. I plan on spreading the word to my quilt guild. Took a brochure to put on the bulletin board for all my fellow quilters to find their way here. Thanks!!

Kathy
Kansas

4/16/2014

Thank you for making “your” home into “our” home. It was so comfortable. Your hospitality is awesome and making our breakfast time work for our schedule was over and above. May you continue to be a home away from home for many who will experience this wonderful place.

Bruce & Char Pugh
Minneapolis, MN

4/19/2013

We had a very easy restful time in your B&B. The room was lovely and comfortable! Great location. Friendly accommodating hosts! We’ll definitely recommend you to our friends. Loved the breakfasts!

Paul & Linda Hoffman
Corvallis, OR

4/3 – 4/4/2014

Fantastic!

The Smoots
Southern IL

3/16/2014

We arrived Friday afternoon. Jan let us check in early and was very welcoming! This was our first B&B and we will most definitely be back! My husband was happy to see Millie. The atmosphere was amazing, the rooms and people were amazing! Every morning Jan and Lou mad an unforgettable breakfast. The peach pancakes and Amana ham were incredible!! Love the B&B “A Touch of Home”. The top place to stay while visiting the Amanas!

Lyle & Kelsie Steverse

2/19/2014

What a wonderful B&B. We really enjoyed our time here. Breakfast was very enjoyable. Loved it. Loved it.

Fran Mathews
Reinbeck, IA

2/14-16/2014

Happy Valentine’s Day! We had a wonderful time staying at your beautiful bed and breakfast. So comfy and cozy on a snowy winter weekend. We couldn’t think of a more lovely place to celebrate our wedding anniversary weekend. Thank you for your generous hospitality.

Karin & Darren Dykstra
Oskaloosa, IA

12/31/2013

What a wonderful B&B! We had the perfect time at your beautiful B&B and truly enjoyed all the fun amenities and extras! Cozy nights with movies, popcorn, and ice cream bars! Breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We loved it!

Chad and Claire Walker
Tulsa, OK

12/9/2013

Thanks for all the hospitality given to us. The room was great and all was decorated really nice. The breakfast was great and thanks for the recipes. We will definitely be back next fall.

Ron & Jean Mueller
Janesville, WI

11/25/2013

Thanks Jan for a wonderful, restful place to stay. Glad we stumbled upon this gem! Hope to see you again in the future.

Wayne & Carol
Fort Wayne, IN

11/24/2013

Had a wonderful stay here! Such great accommodations and service. I enjoyed meeting the other ‘housemates’ at breakfast. Thank you Jan & Louie for allowing us into your B&B. We will be back

Danielle & Adam Thurn
Edgewood, IA

11/3/2013

Our first time to Amana, we picked the perfect place to stay. A Touch of Home has the best location to all the shops and local restaurants, and the best breakfast ever! Loved the potato pancakes. Thanks for a nice relaxing weekend – just what we were looking for.

Tim & Michelle Mosley
Festus, MO

10/20/2013

A touch of home – more homes should be like this!

Ron
Montreal, QC

10/19/2013

Thank you for your hospitality. This is a lovely home. The decorations from floor to ceiling are absolutely wonderful. It is such a great place to relax. Amana Colonies has a lot of history and can be appreciated today. Food was great. Will recommend to anyone going by this way. Thanks for everything.

Dale & Mary Ann
WI

10/13/2013

Thank you so much, Jan for hosting us in your beautiful home! Every touch, both big and small, made us feel so welcome. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and delightful food and company! Our 25th will always be remembered!

Jim & Mary Murphy
Shabbona, IL

10/4/2013

Thank you for such a wonderful night in Amana. My mother and I really enjoyed our stay. We shall return with more family next time we visit you! Lovely, breakfast, amenities and hospitality!

Blessings – Melissa & Pat
Lees Summit, MO

10/2/2013

Thank you so much for the hospitality and fabulous rooms. Breakfast was awesome! Your rooms / suite was a perfect place to enjoy a couple days with friends. Looking forward to another visit some day.

Bill & Vickie Mokros
Mequon, WI

9/24/2013

We enjoyed your place so much. I loved the ‘decorating’ and hospitality. Thank you so much. I grew up and lived on a farm for 70 yrs so hearing the cows last nite brought back many memories. We just celebrated our 1 yr anniversary and we are both in our 80s so this was a nice quiet place to come to and relax. It was truly a “Touch of Home”.

Archie & Dolores
Waseca, MN

9/17/2013

Wonderful visit! Stopped in on our way back from Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks – what a find!! Thank you for a wonderful rest on a long trip home. We will tell many people about this wonderful place.

Fred & Barb
Elma, NY

9/17/2013
Thank you Jan for your wonderful hospitality. Our room was beautiful, comfortable & clean. The breakfast was the “Best”. We will recommend “A Touch of Home” to anyone coming your way. Thank you again!

Larry & Elaine
Lake Mary, FL

9/12/2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful visit! It is lovely and peaceful here and the perfect place to enjoy the Amana spirit! The extra touches like the bikes, ice cream bars and tea bags are what sets you apart from the rest! We had a memorable visit and will be back.

Diana Davolt
Centerville, IA

9/3/2013

This was my first time to the Amanas and my first bed and breakfast. I loved everything about this place. My husband and I thought the hospitality was great. The breakfast was incredible. I am glad I got to take some recipes home so I can make them and be reminded of this place. The room was perfect and had everything we needed for our stay over the holiday weekend. I’m sad we are leaving, but I know where to stay when we decide to come back! Thanks for the great time!

Deb & Dane
Pinecliffe, CO

8/24-25/2013

Absolutely LOVE your B&B and you make your guests feel “at home” and so comfortable. Thank you for your hospitality! Blessings.

Susan & John Lewellen
Normal-Bloomington, IL

8/28/2013

Second time this year staying at “a touch of home”. Hope to make it back next year. Great Place! Wonderful Breakfast!! Thanks again Jan.

Cindy & Heddy Nelson
Costa Rica & Ft Lauderdale, FL

8/18/2013

This was mine and John’s first experience staying at a bed & breakfast – and what a nice experience. The rooms were very nice and comfortable and your hospitality was the best part. We hope to see you again.

Karen & John Kennedy
St Louis, MO

8/15/2013

This was our first experience at a B&B. We stayed 2 nights. Everything was perfect! We had a very relaxing time! Jan was very friendly and willing to answer any questions. We took the van tour. It is very worth while. I hope to return to Amana with my other daughters and hope to stay here again. I wouldn’t want to have to stay somewhere else. I will recommend to others!

Lori and Jayne
Madison, WI

7/26/2013

Back again! We loved our first stay here a year ago and couldn’t wait to come back. Best B&B ever!

Tom & Lori Johnson
Clinton, IA

7/3 – 7/6/2013

WOW – what a wonderful place. We have stayed in many B&Bs but never have we stayed anywhere as wonderful as “The Touch of Home”. We will certainly recommend this B&B to everyone. Breakfasts were outstanding, wonderful conversations with innkeepers & guests & friends. Thanks for helping us make our 15th wedding anniversary a memorable one. God bless you and your home.

Steve & Judy Gillespie
Kansas City, MO

6/20/2013

Our 2 nights here have been wonderful! The location is amazing. The decorating is awesome – what a flair for decorating! It was as comfortable as home – maybe more so. 🙂 Even the little details, such as nightlights and an emergency flashlight in our room, were very thoughtful. Breakfast was great! We were able to balance shopping, touring and relaxing – all within walking distance. Thank you!

Randy & Cyndi Lyon
Des Moines, IA

6/18/2013

Two nights at this lovely, spacious, comfortable, clean, relaxing B&B! Thank you! Breakfasts – yummy and 5 stars at least! Access to so much – walkability is top rated & good information from Jan! we travel and use B&Bs often – this is one of the best! Yes! we’d recommend and we’d return here if we head to Iowa again! Thank you for everything! Best to you as you take in more ‘weary travelers’ who are looking for the comforts of home!

A and P
Evanston, ID

5/25/2013

This was such a treat. It was our first night in a bed and breakfast. Everything was just perfect. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday weekend. We will come back.

Kay & Dick Beck

5/16/2013

What a blessing to be led to this quiet haven! Although we’ve visited the Amanas many times over the years, this is the first timee that we’ve spent the night. You’ve made it a incomparable experience with your generous hospitality. We will make it a point to recommend “A Touch of Home” to others!

Pastor Wayne & Irmagard Ellingson
Garnavillo, Decorah, IA

5/11/2013

Celebrating my 90th birthday here is a great experience! You deserve the best of life!

William L McCarty
Melbourne, FL

4/19/2013

We had a very easy restful time in your B&B. The room was lovely and comfortable! Great location. Friendly accommodating hosts! We’ll definitely recommend you to our friends. Loved the breakfasts!

Paul & Linda Hoffman
Corvallis, OR

4/10/2013

Great place to stay, unexpected discovery of nice and warm environment, comfy bedroom and tasty breakfast! We’ll surely come back again!

Tom Joyce & Hune
Santa Fe, NM – Brussels, BEL

3/29/2013

Thank you for making our 33rd wedding anniversary so memorable. Your place is beautiful…and we will make it a point to return again as soon as we can. The potato pancakes were so good! Wonderful conversations and just “feeling right at home” with you. May God richly bless you as you have also blessed us.

Steve & Valerie Sager
Elmwood, IL

3/23/2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodations. I have never stayed at a bed & breakfast, but now I will let all of my family and friends know how great of an experience it can be with the right hosts, home, and heritage! Amana was a great place for my best friend and I to share a few relaxing days away from the outside world. Breakfast was wonderful and the atmosphere of community was amazing. I will forever think of you as Aunt Jan & Uncle Louie and I will visit again! Many blessings from God to you and your family! Your hospitality is truly making him smile!

Marie Archer & Jesus Martinez
Ames, IA

3/16/2013

We had a very special time staying at your beautiful bed and breakfast. It was my first experience at a bed and breakfast and it was wonderful. The hospitality was superb, food was delicious and it is so beautifully done. It was awesome meeting you both and finding out you were a sister and brother-in-law to my friend back home. Will pass the word of what a wonderful place to go stay if coming to the Amanas. Thanks so much. You get the 5 star rating with a Big Plus.

Sharyl Powers
Jefferson, IA

1/26/2013

Back again! We loved our first stay here a year ago and couldn’t wait to come back. Best B&B ever!

Tom & Lori Johnson

12/2/2012

What a way to spend our 38th wedding anniversary. It was wonderful. Loved your B&B. We will definitely be calling you again. The name “A Touch of Home” is so fitting. It made it so much more personable. Breakfast was GREAT!! Thank you Jan & Louie for making our first time at a B&B special. Visiting at breakfast was enjoyable.

Mark & Vicki Wheeler
Polk City, IA

10/13/2012

Wonderful stay!! We couldn’t have picked a more perfect town and place to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Excellent breakfasts, accommodations, and conversations. Thank you so much and we will be back!!

Marty & Linda Hoffman
Grand Junction, IA

10/9/2012

Thanks Jan, for a wonderful place to get away for a couple of days. Everything in the B&B was beautiful – the decorations so well put together – very Special! Breakfast both mornings was absolutely delicious! (Especially the apple cinnamon muffins). Glad we got to meet your puppies – they are so cute. Thank you for all of your hard work and your great hospitality! May God bless you and this B&B.

Jan Johnson
Forest City, IA

9/29/2012

I do believe this was our best anniversary weekend since we’ve been coming here! The host & hostess are the greatest. We felt very much at home here. Everything was perfection! We sure hope to see you next year at Octoberfest. Thanks again.

Cathy & Eddie Bauer
Waterman, IL

9/27/2012

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! The breakfast was delicious, the bed very comfortable — a perfect place to stay! We will highly recommend “A Touch of Home” to our Minnesota friends.

Donna & Jim Homan
Mankato, MN

9/26/2012

I can’t say enough great things about “A Touch of Home”. It is spacious, pet-friendly, people friendly and immaculate. Jan and Louie make you feel right at home and offer extras like the ability to do laundry as we came for 3 nights and liked it so well we stayed 5 nights. We’ll recommend to everyone! Thanks Jan and Louie.

Tom & Sherrill Pryor
Lake Wales, FL

9/20/2012

Thank you so much for making our 1st visit to the Amana Colonies so memorable! We are already planning a trip for next year. This is the 1st time I’ve ever stayed @ a B&B and your hospitality was awesome! Looking forward to next year.

Barb Brecher
Pipestone, MN

8/31/2012

Very, Very Nice!! Love the location and the authenticity of the home. The homes and business in the area are just awesome. Our room was excellent! Very quiet, felt like home. Love the kitchen area, to go out and roam free in. Your hospitality was so nice. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back and will tell many of our friends. Very nice place! God Bless!

Patricia Bodey
Belvidere, IL

8/28/2012

Arrived Sunday eve August 26th at “A Touch of Home” B&B. We’re so thankful our friends recommended it from their stay in June. What a warm welcome and accommodations outstanding. Room and furnishings delightful and met all of our needs. Shared spacious kitchen and living room space a pleasant surprise and experience. Jan’s breakfasts delicious and a special time with her, Louie and other guests. A special thanks to Jan and Louie – I would gladly recommend their B&B to anyone staying in the Amana area. Very nice and clean – great service!

Darrell and Gayle Addington
Tecumseh, KS