Testimonials

Modern Bed & Breakfast Kitchen

4/1/2019

Beautiful, comfortable room; wonderful breakfast and warm hospitality. Thank you Jan!

John & Dottie & Misty
Buffalo, MN

3/25/2019

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay here for my birthday! It was a nice respite from the flood area in SW Iowa. Breakfast was delicious and the conversation was just as enjoyable! God’s blessings on you.

Ken and Amy Demlow and Faith
Malvern, IA

3/16/2019

What a beautiful place to get away to! Thank you for treating us like family and taking the time to make us feel so welcome and at home. We’ll plan to be back and hope to bring more family.

Nick & Becca
Indianola, IA

1/25/2019

Thanks for a lovely stay. Only thing needing improvement is the weather. It is a little chilly. Thank you.

Rick & Mary

12/27/2018

We appreciated another peaceful and enjoyable visit with you. Thank you for all your attention to detail. Have a great new year!

Mike and Marcia

12/16/2018

Thanks for having us over the weekend! Enjoyed exploring Amana with the benefit of dropping off our Christmas gifts. Breakfast was excellent and we look forward to making roast beef hash in the future. Merry Christmas!

Karly and Brian

11/30/2018

Was a very nice stay. Enjoyed our time here. Amana is a favorite place for us to come. Your food was great also. Thanks.

Darrell & Pat
Fruitland, IA

11/21/2018

Jan & Louie – Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us. You both were so welcoming. We truly felt at home. Hospitality at it’s best! Also thanks for sharing your personal stash of sauerkraut and raspberry beer. We loved them both!! We will be back – – just a warning!

Brian & Vicki Hughes
Pittsburgh, PA

10/28/2018

Thank you Jan and Louis, for another amazing stay. Everything was awesome. I enjoyed the conversation around the breakfast table and firepit. Watching Kubb was fun. You two are great. The food is to die for!!

Kathy Hansen
Columbus, NE

10/4/018

Had a great stay. Breakfast was lovely. Great conversation with host and other guests.

Angela and Martin Gibson
England & Northern Ireland

10/2/2018

Thanks again for the nice stay here. We enjoyed our stay last year so we came back again. The breakfast was fulfilling and delicious. You remembered that I’m celiac and have to eat G-free. God bless you for our stay here.

Lisa & Mary
FL

9/18/2018

We couldn’t have asked for a nicer B&B experience! Wonderful hospitality. Perfectly located to everything!

Pat & Joanne Gardner
W Sacramento, CA

9/14/2018

What a wonderful stay for our girls’ annual trip! Our accommodations couldn’t have been nicer. And you truly put the meaning of “breakfast” into a B&B. Thank you so much for this experience!

Lola, Sue, Nancy
Olathe, KS; Marion, IA; Ames, IA

8/17/2018

What a wonderful place to visit – relaxing, historical and quaint! We enjoyed our stay at A Touch of Home. Jan made us feel like we were at home. Thanks for the wonderful breakfast. Great start for a busy day!

Larry & Susie
Brookfield, WI

8/4/2018

Thank you so much for a delightful, relaxing few days. Breakfasts were awesome, but we especially appreciated being able to relax as if we were home. Playing cards at the dining room table and watching TV on the couch really made this a laid back vacation. Thank you for providing the environment that allowed this to happen.

Faye Friedrich
Rochester, MIN

7/28/2018

Loving our stay here in Amana and LOVE your B&B in all aspects. You both are a delight and have been blessed with the gifts to run this place in such a special way. I’ll always remember my first biscuits and gravy (and made non-dairy – too sweet) and I liked it! Hope to come back again when visiting my nephew and my new niece! Thanks for putting up with all of us Californians!

Vince & Leane Mercelree
San Dimas, CA

7/13/2018

Jan, we had a wonderful visit. Amanas are even more special because of you and your hospitality. Hope to return and will surely recommend A Touch of Home.

Emily George
River Falls, WI

6/30/2018

Thank you Jan and Louie. Wonderful place, delicious breakfast, comfortable accommodations. Best of all the engaging conversation making the world a smaller place and our hearts a little wider.

Mare and Don
Independence, WI

6/24/2018

Thank you for your gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay here. You have a beautiful home and we enjoyed the Amana Colonies.

Te and Joanne Iverson
Rockford, IL

5/25/2018

This bed and breakfast ROCKED! I enjoyed getting to know you, Jan! This is the cleanest most comfy place! Breakfasts were so delicious. I am definitely coming back and staying again and again!

Barb Kubas
Kenosha, WI

5/9/2018

A very clean tidy place. Jan was a gracious hostess. Breakfast was delicious. We will surely try to return. This overnight stay has made our trip delightful.

Orlando and Linda Campos
Houston, TX

4/19/2018

Thank you so very much for the hospitality and wonderful accommodations. It made our 50th wedding anniversary very special!!

A & G Eberline
Bristow, IA

4/20/2018

Thanks so much for allowing us to stay at your lovely B&B. Your home has the charm of an 1895 home, but has all the amenities of today. Your breakfast was wonderful and our kitchen was so welcoming with the coffee that was waiting for us when we awoke.

Ross and Margaret

4/19/2018

Thank you so very much for the hospitality and wonderful accommodations. It made our 50th wedding anniversary very special!!

A & G Eberline
Bristow, IA

3/27/2018

It was a pleasure to stay with you. Good food, nice room, great innkeeper. For us, it was a trip down memory lane. We last stayed in Amana in 1976. Maybe we need to wait less – a lot less – than 42 years before we return!

Ross and Margaret

3/25/2018

A great place to be snowed in at. Good food and good hosts. I will highly recommend “A Touch of Home” to our friends.
Alberta and Walter

2/25/2018

Thank you for the hospitality. We had a wonderful time and hope to return soon!

Deb, Tami, Kristine

2/2/2018

I am so glad we called here to check for a room. Our trip here was ‘last minute’ and we had not made lodging plans. Comfortable clean rooms and wonderful food! Thank you so much.

John and Susan Swenson
North Branch, MN

1/28/2018

We are so fortunate to have ‘happened upon’ A Touch of Home! We enjoyed the facility and the morning breakfast was amazing. The blueberry scones with lemon frosting was to die for. Your kind and friendly hospitality was precious too! Thank you again. We will definitely return soon.

Warren and Vickie Larson
Mt Pleasant, IA

1/5/2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality you have shown to us during our stay. We truly appreciate the flexibility in what you fixed for breakfast due to food allergies. Enjoyed the conversation around the table. Really enjoyed the warm ambiance of our room. Thank you again for helping our stay in Amana to be so enjoyable. We will be back.

Casey and Kelly Bassett

12/28/2017

We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay. Thank you so much for the delicious food and for accommodating a gluten free diet. We had everything we needed for a delightful get-away – soft pillows, comfy bed, warm fireplace, full kitchen, DVD player and beautiful village of Amana. You are a lovely hostess and we felt very pampered. May God bless you.

Michael and Michele Tweedy
Gladbrook, IA

12/10/2017

Our first time to a bed and breakfast! Enjoyed it very much and was very happy here! The beds were comfortable and breakfast and coffee was great! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Willie and Jan Lang
Alta, IA

11/8/2017

What a wonderful find. Beautifully decorated, lovely breakfast and great conversation. We will be back and bring our friends.

Vicki and Jane

11/5/2017

We were happy to be back for our family gathering. We so enjoy your hospitality! Our bed was so comfortable and as always, we enjoyed your wonderful breakfast. Thank you!

Dick and Doris
Cedar Rapids, IA

10/17/2017

For the third time in three years we thank you for sharing your lovely bed and breakfast. Hope to continue with our great visits!

Stan and Shirley Wade
Pekin, IL

10/6/2017

Thanks again, Jan, for a very pleasant stay at the Touch of Home. The hospitality is superb, the food is delicious. We really appreciate the home cooked breakfast and the fellowship with you and the other guests. In this crazy mixed up world, it is nice to know strangers can still come together, break bread and be at peace. We look forward to coming for another stay on our next trip to chicago. God Bless!

Ruthie and Dan Droste

9/23/2017

We have enjoyed our time at your beautiful B&B! Our time here was a gift from our family to celebrate our 56th anniversary. Everything was so enjoyable and the breakfast delicious! We’re hoping to come back very soon!

Ed and Mary Ringberg
Moline, IL

9/13/2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Your home is very comfortable. This was the first time I’ve ever slept well the first night I stayed over anywhere. Thank you so much for your hospitality. (PS I appreciate the good hair dryer)

David and Keisha Voth

8/23/2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay at your B&B. Nicely laid out arrangement for our two families to visit. Your breakfasts are so delicious. We enjoyed being here so much. Thank you Jan!

Janet & Roger Garrett
Spring Valley, IL

8/2017

Thanks Jan for a lovely stay in a lovely B&B.

Adrian and Josephine
Spain

7/27/2017

We are very thankful about your great house and your service. We enjoyed Amana and around Cedar Rapids. Wonderful people, land and service. God bless you.

Erouios and Mviu
Ethiopia, Africa

7/25/2017

You have set a high standard! Enjoyed every part of our stay, but the heat and humidity. Thanks for letting us bring our dog. He enjoyed it too. Super great job.

The Greens
Tavares, FL & Wild Rose, WI

6/18/2017

Very enjoyable. Loved the food and hospitality. Very clean with high standards. Thank you! We’ll highly recommend to others. Great gluten-free bread.

Rick and Denise
Kingman, AZ

6/1/2017

This was our first stay at a B&B…but certainly won’t be our last. We may never stay at a hotel again! Clean, quiet, comfortable and a fabulous breakfast. Will definitely pass a referral on to friends… and hope to return again ourselves.

Roger and Connie
Lincoln, NE

5/24/2017

What a wonderful time we experienced during our Amana visit! Thank you for your warm hospitality and super accommodations. You really went over the top to make us welcome.

Carol and Bev

5/20/2017

Thank you so much for everything. Our stay has been so comfortable and inviting! Breakfast and the accommodations were incredible and we will definitely be back!

Jen and Andy Garrett
Hopedale, IL

4/21/2017

Wow, what a first impression! Anxious for our stay to begin…Beautiful accommodations, food was delicious, a great Bed and Breakfast experience! We’ll recommend to others.

Deb
Lincoln, NE

4/15/2017

This place is truly delightful and peaceful! We will certainly plan to come back again and recommend it to others as a great get-away B&B! Thanks again. Blessings to you all!

Monte and Linda
LaVista, NE

3/23/2017

You surely do make this experience ‘a touch of home’. It was quiet and relaxing. The room is exquisite and the bed is just right. Five stars!

Diane and Bob
Swansea, IL

3/4/2017

Picked A Touch of Home for the location and boy are we glad we did. What a beautiful B&B and we will be back. Thank you for your gracious hospitality, delicious breakfast and sharing your home with so many.

Beth and Harold
Chariton, IA

2/25/2017

Thank you for the great stay. You have a wonderful B&B and the breakfast and conversation was very enjoyable. A Touch of Home is an appropriate name!

Brian and Tammi
Des Moines, IA

2/25/2017

What a great ‘find’ here in the Amanas. Beautiful accommodations, great food and conversation. We even learned how to play Kubb! We will be back soon!

Bell and Corina

1/29/2017

Thank you for your generous hospitality on our overnight. I was so relaxing and quiet – just what we needed. And even though home is only 30 minutes away, we felt like we could have been in Europe. A highlight was visiting with other guests at your incredibly delicious breakfast. Thanks Jan and Lou! We’ll be coming back!

Jim and Judy
Iowa City, IA

1/5/2017

We had a great time thank you so much for everything! Looking forward to coming back!

Art and Marchelle

12/29/2016

It was truly a blessing to spend the night here in your beautiful home. We found our time here to be very peaceful. It wouldn’t surprise me if we find our way back to your door in the near future. Have a happy and prosperous new year. God bless!

Steve and Julie Reed

12/4/2016

Prelude to Christmas weekend. This was great! Perfect weekend and “A Touch of Home” made it even greater! Everything here was perfect, so comfortable and welcoming! The breakfasts were unbelievably delicious! This whole experience is one of those listed ‘not to be missed’ in travel brochures. Thank you to Jan and Louie!

Jan and Ron
Chippewa Falls, WI

11/2016

You have a beautiful home, which we very much enjoyed. Quiet peacefulness gave my husband and myself time together. Breakfast was delicious and the company refreshing. God bless you.

Rich and Linda

11/22/2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful time! I had such a nice time relaxing here. Your place is so homey. Thank you for the delicious breakfast! I hope I can return sometime. Thanks again!

Emily
Wisconsin Dells, WI

10/23/2016

We really enjoyed our stay here – house is very beautiful – very warm and inviting. Room was very quiet and comfortable and breakfasts were delicious! Thanks for your hospitality. We will be back!

Mike and Becky
Romeoville, IL

10/13/2016

What a lovely B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & loved our room. The hospitality was very much appreciated!

Brian and Traci Reineke
Johnston, IA

9/18/2016

Jan – we loved the town, the breakfast, the bed and the hospitality. Thank you for the service and friendliness you provide weary travelers!

Tim & Gay Greeno
Oklahoma City, OK

9/11/2016

Thanks so much for sharing your home with us. It is beautiful! Jan you were so helpful with telling us where places were – especially quilt shops and eating places. Thanks! Breakfast time was delightful filled with wonderful food and conversation. So enjoyed staying here – you were awesome!! and so is your home. Thank you! Thank you!!

Dick and Mary
Preston, MN

8/10/2016

Back again to our favorite place. This time it at the end of our 18 day road trip to the Northeast. How wonderful to spend our last night in a comfortable setting, with a relaxed evening watching the Olympics. We appreciate all the comforts you provide in this lovely ‘mini apartment’. Looking forward to many more time.

Phil and Joyce

8/9/2016

Thank you so much! Everything was just wonderful and welcoming! Really enjoyed the fire pit and the delicious breakfast. We will certainly be back again! Thanks.

Ann & Alex
Des Moines

7/29/2016

As usual, everything was wonderful. Glad to have met Louis this trip. The potato pancakes were great! It’s always like coming home. Already looking forward to coming back next summer. Thanks again.

Heddy Nelson & Cindy Evans
Fort Lauderdale, FL and Britt, IA

7/2/2016

Our stay was a perfect end to our trip home from the black hills, SD. It was great to check in earlier than expected. I have to say that photos do not do justice to your B&B. A Touch of Home is so inviting, clean and homey. Thank you for your gracious hospitality!

Joe & Michele Herman
Plano, IL

6/27/2016

This really was the first ‘touch of home’ we have experienced on our 12 day drive through the midwest. This is a beautiful and very hospitable B&B. Thank you so much!

Terri Sandlin
Arrigon, OR

6/7/2016

Thank you for making us feel so at home. This is absolutely the nicest B&B we have stayed in! Hope to return some day!

Nancy Walbring

5/11/2016

God bless you Jan for opening your home so graciously to others. I always felt welcome here. You put
alot of hard work into your beautiful B&B and it shows. I will be back and I am definitely recommending ‘A Touch of Home’.

Deana Grasnick
Cedar Falls, IA

5/5/2016

Cinco de Mayo in Amana a historical German town. My first ever stay in a bed and breakfast. Now I can cross it off my bucket list. Beautiful place to stay, a little heaven on earth. Thank you.

Dennis & Starlen Patrick
Prunedale, CA

4/28/2016

We had a great time visiting with you both and your guests. We were so fortunate to get reservations and had a great time in Amana even with the liquid sunshine. It was our first experience at a B&B and we could not have found a more beautiful place to stay. Wish we could pack everything up and take if home with us! We can’t wait to come again.

Mary & Robin Vail
Kansas City, MO

4/16/2016

We’ve stayed at B&Bs all over North America and you have one of the best. Really enjoyed our stay. Great food and loved the fire and gazebo. Thanks so much.

Rich and Margo
Eureka, IL

3/28/2016

What a great time! Great food, conversation. We want to come back again. My wife really enjoyed our time here.

Ray & Bev Gossen
Freeman, SD

3/26/2016

We have had a spectacular visit. The rooms are beautiful – the energy and space is just lovely. We felt like we were in our own home. Thank you for being dog friendly. Our little Boston Terrier made herself at home. Breakfast was perfect and our conversation with Jan (who is lovely) was very nice. We will tell everyone to stop if they are in the area and hope to back again!

Beth & Stewart Wilson and Mambo

2/13/2016

Thank you so much for everything this weekend. You have a beautiful home and made us very comfortable here, not to mention the delicious breakfast you prepared for us! This weekend was an unforgettable experience for us. Thank you so much.

Austin & Casey
Iowa City, IA

2/5/2016

Thank you for making your home available to use. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the conversation! Best wishes. We’ll definitely call again if we meet Donna and Magoo in Amana again.

Jim & Raelynn
Adrian, MO

12/15/2015

What a great way to spend our anniversary! Lovely place, great food, interesting town — why have we not been here before? Thanks!

Mark and Karenn Lehmann
Waverly, IA

12/13/2015

We had such a wonderful time! The food was awesome and Jan and Lou are such gracious hosts. This is by far the BEST B&B we have ever been to! See you again next year. Happy holidays.

Mark and Rhonda Seip
Springfield, NE

12/9/2015

Jan, this was such an enjoyable experience for a first time B&B. It was very personable for you to sit and enjoy your wonderful breakfast with us. The bedrooms and house are so homey and beautiful. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We truly had a wonderful time. Thank you. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Arlin & Connie Parsell
Kane, IL

12/3/2015

Lorin and I enjoyed our visit at your wonderful B&B. Such a homey and comfortable place to stay. We will visit again when we are in the area. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed visiting with you, Jan. Thanks for your hospitality. We will tell our friends and family about our stay. Merry Christmas to you and family.

Lorin & Dorothy Fox
Durant, IA

11/25/2015

We are grateful to have discovered and experienced your hospitality this Thanksgiving weekend. It is a touch of home and then some. You have talent in the many and varied aspects of B&B: from design to decor, dining to sharing cooking duties and conversation. You have a talent for creating a comfortable, cozy and friendly atmosphere. Thanks for sharing your talents with those (like us) who’ve been fortunate enough to find our ways to your doorstep.

Jan & Tom Norton
De Soto, MO

10/23/2015

Thank you so much for all of your hospitality for our family wedding. Your home is beautiful and helped us to create the exact ceremony we wanted. The breakfast each day was absolutely delicious. We truly appreciate your generosity.

Valerie Davis & Dave Tigges

9/16/2015

Beautiful, welcoming home and setup. The breakfasts were superb…tasty and filling. A great way to start as were our morning conversations with Jan. Lovely, homey accommodations and great hospitality!! Loved the breakfasts – absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for a great Amana experience. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends!

John & Kris Behrens
Omaha, NE

9/3/2015

Awesome!! Will be coming back to Amana and staying at Jan’s! Loved the home, food and especially the kindness shown by Jan. “UYa’ll come back now, you hear” as they say in the south. And we will!

Susan & Larry Johnson
Atlanta, GA

8/23/2015

You have a delightful B&B! All the comforts of home! We felt very spoiled. It was relaxing and it was so interesting hearing about the history of your home and Amana (or as some of us like to refer to it as ‘Atlanta’ !! The breakfasts were amazing and delicious! Our compliments to the cooks! Blessings to both of you!

Dick & Sheila
Kearney, NE

8/22/2015

Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay at your B&B. Very comfortable and had an awesome time. We would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in a B&B. Breakfast was great! Would like to come back again and stay another night or two. Thanks again.
Dorothy & Lisa
Oskaloosa and Fort Madison. IA

7/14/2015

Thank you for the great stay. You were great company and breakfasts were really good! The boys from Belgium.

Lauren and Kieran
Leuven, Belgium

7/14/2015

Dear Jan and Louie: You made us feel at home the minute we put our suitcases down. Thank you for giving our ancestry search a broader meaning and inviting surprise guest Ron. Breakfast conversations were great. Breakfasts are so tasty with all the fresh ingredients – they keep us going for a long time. Amana is not your typical holiday destination for Europeans, but if ever make it back to this part of the world, we will definitely come back to your B&B.

Frank & Carine Seye
Leuven, Belgium

6/4/2015

Thank you so much for your lovely home that you shared with us. It is beautiful. Your attention to detail made it extra special. We are happy that we chose A Touch of Home to celebrate our 56th anniversary.

Mark and Janet Mitzner
Peoria, IL

6/4/2015

Thank you very much for making our first B&B experience a good one. Room is clean and so comfortable and breakfast outstanding. We will pass on the word and definitely stay here again.

Barb & Mike Paine
Geneva, IA

5/15/2015

Thank you for your great hospitality and joining us for our great breakfasts that you both provided for us. We have had three wonderful days here and we look forward to returning again for future events in the Amana Colonies.

Sandra & Steven Dau
Galien, MI

5/12/2015

Thank you so much for the hospitality!! What a great place to call home for a few days. Wonderful location – fantastic breakfasts – comfortable bed and best of all your lovely personality.

Jim and Sharon Phillips
Greensboro, NC

4/3/2015

Thanks for the wonderful stay. This is our first stay at a B&B and we loved it! You set the bar pretty high. We would definitely recommend this to others! Coffee and breakfast was amazing!

Matt & Pauline
Dubuque, IA

4/3/2015

Had a wonderful time! This was our first B&B and it was a great experience! Thank you for your hospitality and can’t wait to do this again!

Dan & Ashley Lindstrom
Roland, IA

3/12/2015

Thank you so much for your hospitality. We have enjoyed our short stay here at the Amanas. This was, by far, one of our favorite B&Bs. Breakfast was delicious, as was the conversation around the table with your other guests.

Bob & Joyce Parker
Wayland, Michigan

3/8/2015

Thank you so much for everything. You made our first B&B experience a special time and want to do it again soon. Lovely hospitality!

Rex & Tracy
Des Moines, IA

2/22/2015

Your B&B is certainly well named – A Touch of Home! Joe and I, and my sister, Marylin and Jon had an absolutely delightful time! we loved Amana and the Herbert Hoover Museum! You are a fantastic cook – never had better breakfasts! We’d like to come back! PS – how great that you saved the left-overs for us!

Luanne & Joe Neuner
Olathe, KS

2/21/2015

We had an awesome time. Breakfast was great. Nice time visiting around the breakfast table with everyone. You both were great hosts.

Jeff & Barbara
Lenexa, KS

2/14/2015

Thank you for the great experience. As I told you before, we had a horrible B&B experience in Ankeny about 5 years ago. Your B&B changed our feeling towards B&Bs. Breakfast was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Jerry & Ashley Chase

1/28/2015

We cannot begin to express our sincere appreciation for the wonderful experience of staying at “A Touch of Home”! It is truly a founded expression of it’s name – HOME! Right down to the “family-like” feeling and atmosphere! Your Bed & Breakfast is so elegantly appointed, but most important was the connection and relationship we established with you – PRICELESS! After all, isn’t that what real life is made up of?…relationships!! Thank you! The accommodations, food and fellowship were all top notch! We will be back….with our family!! Many blessings, love and prayers to you all!

Galen & Ann Thompson
Minneapolis, MN

12/21/2014

A Touch of Home was certainly that and more. You have set a high bar for future B&Bs we visit. Beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and perfect location. What more could one ask of the first B? As to the second B, Breakfast…another 4 star performance, wonderful food and plenty of it. We were glad there were no scales in our room! Look for us again next time we’re in Amana. You were gracious and great. Thank you and Merry Christmas.

Pam and Joe
Overland Park, KS

12/13/2014

Thanks once again for your amazing hospitality. Your home welcomes us as if it were our home. We thank you dearly and look forward to our visits next year.

Susan and John

11/9/2014

What a wonderful weekend get-away! Your home is gorgeous and so very comfortable we felt instantly at home. Thank you for all of your kindnesses from the fabulous breakfasts to the shopping suggestions. Your four legged children made my visit especially nice!! The perfect weekend for 5 frazzled friends to reconnect and relax.

Holly Kaffenberger
Rochester, MN

11/7/2014

What a beautiful place and wonderful hosts. The nicest B&B I’ve ever stayed in. We had a wonderful girls’ weekend. Thank you!

Brenda Vosik
Omaha, NE

10/16/2014

This was our first visit to Amana, but it definitely will not be our last and we plan to stay at “A Touch of Home” again. What a beautiful, warm and welcoming place. The breakfasts were delicious and Jan is a fabulous hostess. We enjoyed the other guests as well and even had dinner with one of the other couples last night. We stopped here on our way from two weeks with our grandchildren (ages 3 and 7 weeks) in Utah and this was a perfect mini vacation before returning home. We will definitely recommend Amana and “A Touch of Home to our friends.

Sue and Leo Thomasgard
Port Edwards, WI

10/3/2014

Thanks for such a wonderful B&B. Wish we could stay longer! We are on our way home after a 2 week trip riding our bicycles and staying at Bed and Breakfasts in Wisconsin and Minnesota – all the B&Bs have been nice and each unique, but I must say Touch of Home is TOPS in amenities! Breakfast was great also!

Ann & Larry McGuire
Chester, IL

9/14/2014

Thank you so much for making a busy wedding weekend a little easier for all of us. It has been so enjoyable. Hospitality was warm and meals very delicious. Especially appreciated your gracious attitude in serving this large group in varied times!! The creme brulee french toast was amazing and Phil loved the hash. May God grant you many guests as you continue this venture. You were a blessing to Mark and Coby and our family.

Rev Phil & Evy Somsen
Fort Dodge, IA

9/8/2014

This was my first visit to a B&B. What a wonderful experience. Beautifully decorated and great breakfasts. Thanks so much, also, for the use of your bikes! Thank you.

Debbie
Villa Park, IL

8/8/2014

Not only did Jan and Louie so graciously invite us to stay in their AMAZING B&B, but we are beyond overjoyed that their son and our daughter united our families when they committed themselves, with God’s blessing, in marriage this weekend! Both Jan and Louie with the never ending support of Jonathan, helped make memories for us that will stay in our hearts for a lifetime. We look forward to making many more memories with the Caspers family (they have no choice. We share grandkids!) Oh and the B and B? Just look around and see for yourself that Jan and Louie have thought of, included and labored every single detail to make sure their guests have a most pleasant stay! Until next time…. PS – the breakfasts are fantastic!

Scott and Laurie and Gramdma B
Camarillo, CA

8/8/2014

You have a wonderful B&B. The room was very nice. It’s a nice location within walking distance to many of the interesting things to visit. I love the beautiful flowers all around the area. Thank you for a very nice breakfast. Thank you for making the potato pancakes. Everything was delicious. It was a pleasure meeting the guests and you! Everyone was very hospitable and friendly. Take care and God bless!

Marty & Candy Robertson
Rochester, MN

8/6/2014

When my sister and I left home to drive to the Amana Colonies, little did we know we would be treated with our first visit to a B&B. We felt as if we were in an apartment. All the comforts of home. What a wonderful experience. How will I ever be able to stay in a hotel again? Amana is an inspiring place to visit. Hopefully the rest of our sisters will join us next trip. The nice thing is, all 8 of us could stay at “A Touch of Home”. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. Blessings and the best of many years to come….

Terri Keopple
New Richmond, WI

7/25/2014

When we first decided to spend time here in Amana, all the B&Bs were booked. Jan was kind enough to inform us of an opening that came up and if it weren’t for her thoughtfulness, we never would have spent the night at such a wonderful establishment! We would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone! Jan and Louie are such wonderful hosts and make the experience of the stay feel like home. Breakfast was wonderful and so was the company of the other guests! We will most definitely be back again!

Trevor & Jacky

7/7/2014

We have stayed in B&Bs before, but this is the best so far. You have done a great job in designing and decorating. Thanks for sharing your home with us. We will definitely recommend “Touch of Home” to our family and friends.

Donna and Jan Logan
Burlington, IA

7/2/2014

Jan, this is truly a Touch of Home! You have a special way of making us feel welcome. We appreciated all the amenities, down to the purple hair dryer! And the best bed on our vacation! Great breakfast too! If we’re ever in Amana in our travels again, we’ll stay here. Thanks!

Mary & Bob Thompson
Highland, IN

6/15/2014

What a great place to spend our 39th anniversary! We so enjoyed your whole set-up here – the room, the access to the kitchen, the food, and especially your thoughtful and kind hospitality! You have really established an atmosphere that suits the name, “A Touch of Home”. Thank you!! God bless you with the joy of His love in Jesus!

Jon and Candy Winkel

6/5/2014

We felt so fortunate to have learned about your B&B. Not only is it absolutely beautiful but you have thought of everything! Food was delicious, hospitality was terrific, couldn’t have been better! Thank you so much! We would recommend your accommodations to anyone, any time!

Baile and Dan McGinnis
Topeka, KS

5/27/2014

Thank you for a lovely time at your B&B. You covered all of the A, B, Cs of inn keeping – Accommodations, Best breakfast, Clean and Comfortable. What more could one need. We’ll see you again. Keep up the good work. “Enjoy” what you do.

Nancy and Jim
Cincinnati, OH

5/20/2014

Very nice place. Excellent breakfast. Never liked B&Bs but you sold me on this one. We will be back.

Dave & Marie Bartel
MB, Canada

5/5/2014

First time to stay in a B&B. I am hooked!! It is just trying to find one as nice as this. Every detail of this place is wonderful. The room, the private accommodations, the breakfast. How lucky we were. I plan on spreading the word to my quilt guild. Took a brochure to put on the bulletin board for all my fellow quilters to find their way here. Thanks!!

Kathy
Kansas

4/16/2014

Thank you for making “your” home into “our” home. It was so comfortable. Your hospitality is awesome and making our breakfast time work for our schedule was over and above. May you continue to be a home away from home for many who will experience this wonderful place.

Bruce & Char Pugh
Minneapolis, MN

4/19/2013

We had a very easy restful time in your B&B. The room was lovely and comfortable! Great location. Friendly accommodating hosts! We’ll definitely recommend you to our friends. Loved the breakfasts!

Paul & Linda Hoffman
Corvallis, OR

4/3 – 4/4/2014

Fantastic!

The Smoots
Southern IL

3/16/2014

We arrived Friday afternoon. Jan let us check in early and was very welcoming! This was our first B&B and we will most definitely be back! My husband was happy to see Millie. The atmosphere was amazing, the rooms and people were amazing! Every morning Jan and Lou mad an unforgettable breakfast. The peach pancakes and Amana ham were incredible!! Love the B&B “A Touch of Home”. The top place to stay while visiting the Amanas!

Lyle & Kelsie Steverse

2/19/2014

What a wonderful B&B. We really enjoyed our time here. Breakfast was very enjoyable. Loved it. Loved it.

Fran Mathews
Reinbeck, IA

2/14-16/2014

Happy Valentine’s Day! We had a wonderful time staying at your beautiful bed and breakfast. So comfy and cozy on a snowy winter weekend. We couldn’t think of a more lovely place to celebrate our wedding anniversary weekend. Thank you for your generous hospitality.

Karin & Darren Dykstra
Oskaloosa, IA

12/31/2013

What a wonderful B&B! We had the perfect time at your beautiful B&B and truly enjoyed all the fun amenities and extras! Cozy nights with movies, popcorn, and ice cream bars! Breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We loved it!

Chad and Claire Walker
Tulsa, OK

12/9/2013

Thanks for all the hospitality given to us. The room was great and all was decorated really nice. The breakfast was great and thanks for the recipes. We will definitely be back next fall.

Ron & Jean Mueller
Janesville, WI

11/25/2013

Thanks Jan for a wonderful, restful place to stay. Glad we stumbled upon this gem! Hope to see you again in the future.

Wayne & Carol
Fort Wayne, IN

11/24/2013

Had a wonderful stay here! Such great accommodations and service. I enjoyed meeting the other ‘housemates’ at breakfast. Thank you Jan & Louie for allowing us into your B&B. We will be back

Danielle & Adam Thurn
Edgewood, IA

11/3/2013

Our first time to Amana, we picked the perfect place to stay. A Touch of Home has the best location to all the shops and local restaurants, and the best breakfast ever! Loved the potato pancakes. Thanks for a nice relaxing weekend – just what we were looking for.

Tim & Michelle Mosley
Festus, MO

10/20/2013

A touch of home – more homes should be like this!

Ron
Montreal, QC

10/19/2013

Thank you for your hospitality. This is a lovely home. The decorations from floor to ceiling are absolutely wonderful. It is such a great place to relax. Amana Colonies has a lot of history and can be appreciated today. Food was great. Will recommend to anyone going by this way. Thanks for everything.

Dale & Mary Ann
WI

10/13/2013

Thank you so much, Jan for hosting us in your beautiful home! Every touch, both big and small, made us feel so welcome. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and delightful food and company! Our 25th will always be remembered!

Jim & Mary Murphy
Shabbona, IL

10/4/2013

Thank you for such a wonderful night in Amana. My mother and I really enjoyed our stay. We shall return with more family next time we visit you! Lovely, breakfast, amenities and hospitality!

Blessings – Melissa & Pat
Lees Summit, MO

10/2/2013

Thank you so much for the hospitality and fabulous rooms. Breakfast was awesome! Your rooms / suite was a perfect place to enjoy a couple days with friends. Looking forward to another visit some day.

Bill & Vickie Mokros
Mequon, WI

9/24/2013

We enjoyed your place so much. I loved the ‘decorating’ and hospitality. Thank you so much. I grew up and lived on a farm for 70 yrs so hearing the cows last nite brought back many memories. We just celebrated our 1 yr anniversary and we are both in our 80s so this was a nice quiet place to come to and relax. It was truly a “Touch of Home”.

Archie & Dolores
Waseca, MN

9/17/2013

Wonderful visit! Stopped in on our way back from Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks – what a find!! Thank you for a wonderful rest on a long trip home. We will tell many people about this wonderful place.

Fred & Barb
Elma, NY

9/17/2013
Thank you Jan for your wonderful hospitality. Our room was beautiful, comfortable & clean. The breakfast was the “Best”. We will recommend “A Touch of Home” to anyone coming your way. Thank you again!

Larry & Elaine
Lake Mary, FL

9/12/2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful visit! It is lovely and peaceful here and the perfect place to enjoy the Amana spirit! The extra touches like the bikes, ice cream bars and tea bags are what sets you apart from the rest! We had a memorable visit and will be back.

Diana Davolt
Centerville, IA

9/3/2013

This was my first time to the Amanas and my first bed and breakfast. I loved everything about this place. My husband and I thought the hospitality was great. The breakfast was incredible. I am glad I got to take some recipes home so I can make them and be reminded of this place. The room was perfect and had everything we needed for our stay over the holiday weekend. I’m sad we are leaving, but I know where to stay when we decide to come back! Thanks for the great time!

Deb & Dane
Pinecliffe, CO

8/24-25/2013

Absolutely LOVE your B&B and you make your guests feel “at home” and so comfortable. Thank you for your hospitality! Blessings.

Susan & John Lewellen
Normal-Bloomington, IL

8/28/2013

Second time this year staying at “a touch of home”. Hope to make it back next year. Great Place! Wonderful Breakfast!! Thanks again Jan.

Cindy & Heddy Nelson
Costa Rica & Ft Lauderdale, FL

8/18/2013

This was mine and John’s first experience staying at a bed & breakfast – and what a nice experience. The rooms were very nice and comfortable and your hospitality was the best part. We hope to see you again.

Karen & John Kennedy
St Louis, MO

8/15/2013

This was our first experience at a B&B. We stayed 2 nights. Everything was perfect! We had a very relaxing time! Jan was very friendly and willing to answer any questions. We took the van tour. It is very worth while. I hope to return to Amana with my other daughters and hope to stay here again. I wouldn’t want to have to stay somewhere else. I will recommend to others!

Lori and Jayne
Madison, WI

7/26/2013

Back again! We loved our first stay here a year ago and couldn’t wait to come back. Best B&B ever!

Tom & Lori Johnson
Clinton, IA

7/3 – 7/6/2013

WOW – what a wonderful place. We have stayed in many B&Bs but never have we stayed anywhere as wonderful as “The Touch of Home”. We will certainly recommend this B&B to everyone. Breakfasts were outstanding, wonderful conversations with innkeepers & guests & friends. Thanks for helping us make our 15th wedding anniversary a memorable one. God bless you and your home.

Steve & Judy Gillespie
Kansas City, MO

6/20/2013

Our 2 nights here have been wonderful! The location is amazing. The decorating is awesome – what a flair for decorating! It was as comfortable as home – maybe more so. 🙂 Even the little details, such as nightlights and an emergency flashlight in our room, were very thoughtful. Breakfast was great! We were able to balance shopping, touring and relaxing – all within walking distance. Thank you!

Randy & Cyndi Lyon
Des Moines, IA

6/18/2013

Two nights at this lovely, spacious, comfortable, clean, relaxing B&B! Thank you! Breakfasts – yummy and 5 stars at least! Access to so much – walkability is top rated & good information from Jan! we travel and use B&Bs often – this is one of the best! Yes! we’d recommend and we’d return here if we head to Iowa again! Thank you for everything! Best to you as you take in more ‘weary travelers’ who are looking for the comforts of home!

A and P
Evanston, ID

5/25/2013

This was such a treat. It was our first night in a bed and breakfast. Everything was just perfect. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday weekend. We will come back.

Kay & Dick Beck

5/16/2013

What a blessing to be led to this quiet haven! Although we’ve visited the Amanas many times over the years, this is the first timee that we’ve spent the night. You’ve made it a incomparable experience with your generous hospitality. We will make it a point to recommend “A Touch of Home” to others!

Pastor Wayne & Irmagard Ellingson
Garnavillo, Decorah, IA

5/11/2013

Celebrating my 90th birthday here is a great experience! You deserve the best of life!

William L McCarty
Melbourne, FL

4/19/2013

We had a very easy restful time in your B&B. The room was lovely and comfortable! Great location. Friendly accommodating hosts! We’ll definitely recommend you to our friends. Loved the breakfasts!

Paul & Linda Hoffman
Corvallis, OR

4/10/2013

Great place to stay, unexpected discovery of nice and warm environment, comfy bedroom and tasty breakfast! We’ll surely come back again!

Tom Joyce & Hune
Santa Fe, NM – Brussels, BEL

3/29/2013

Thank you for making our 33rd wedding anniversary so memorable. Your place is beautiful…and we will make it a point to return again as soon as we can. The potato pancakes were so good! Wonderful conversations and just “feeling right at home” with you. May God richly bless you as you have also blessed us.

Steve & Valerie Sager
Elmwood, IL

3/23/2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodations. I have never stayed at a bed & breakfast, but now I will let all of my family and friends know how great of an experience it can be with the right hosts, home, and heritage! Amana was a great place for my best friend and I to share a few relaxing days away from the outside world. Breakfast was wonderful and the atmosphere of community was amazing. I will forever think of you as Aunt Jan & Uncle Louie and I will visit again! Many blessings from God to you and your family! Your hospitality is truly making him smile!

Marie Archer & Jesus Martinez
Ames, IA

3/16/2013

We had a very special time staying at your beautiful bed and breakfast. It was my first experience at a bed and breakfast and it was wonderful. The hospitality was superb, food was delicious and it is so beautifully done. It was awesome meeting you both and finding out you were a sister and brother-in-law to my friend back home. Will pass the word of what a wonderful place to go stay if coming to the Amanas. Thanks so much. You get the 5 star rating with a Big Plus.

Sharyl Powers
Jefferson, IA

1/26/2013

Back again! We loved our first stay here a year ago and couldn’t wait to come back. Best B&B ever!

Tom & Lori Johnson

12/2/2012

What a way to spend our 38th wedding anniversary. It was wonderful. Loved your B&B. We will definitely be calling you again. The name “A Touch of Home” is so fitting. It made it so much more personable. Breakfast was GREAT!! Thank you Jan & Louie for making our first time at a B&B special. Visiting at breakfast was enjoyable.

Mark & Vicki Wheeler
Polk City, IA

10/13/2012

Wonderful stay!! We couldn’t have picked a more perfect town and place to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Excellent breakfasts, accommodations, and conversations. Thank you so much and we will be back!!

Marty & Linda Hoffman
Grand Junction, IA

10/9/2012

Thanks Jan, for a wonderful place to get away for a couple of days. Everything in the B&B was beautiful – the decorations so well put together – very Special! Breakfast both mornings was absolutely delicious! (Especially the apple cinnamon muffins). Glad we got to meet your puppies – they are so cute. Thank you for all of your hard work and your great hospitality! May God bless you and this B&B.

Jan Johnson
Forest City, IA

9/29/2012

I do believe this was our best anniversary weekend since we’ve been coming here! The host & hostess are the greatest. We felt very much at home here. Everything was perfection! We sure hope to see you next year at Octoberfest. Thanks again.

Cathy & Eddie Bauer
Waterman, IL

9/27/2012

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! The breakfast was delicious, the bed very comfortable — a perfect place to stay! We will highly recommend “A Touch of Home” to our Minnesota friends.

Donna & Jim Homan
Mankato, MN

9/26/2012

I can’t say enough great things about “A Touch of Home”. It is spacious, pet-friendly, people friendly and immaculate. Jan and Louie make you feel right at home and offer extras like the ability to do laundry as we came for 3 nights and liked it so well we stayed 5 nights. We’ll recommend to everyone! Thanks Jan and Louie.

Tom & Sherrill Pryor
Lake Wales, FL

9/20/2012

Thank you so much for making our 1st visit to the Amana Colonies so memorable! We are already planning a trip for next year. This is the 1st time I’ve ever stayed @ a B&B and your hospitality was awesome! Looking forward to next year.

Barb Brecher
Pipestone, MN

8/31/2012

Very, Very Nice!! Love the location and the authenticity of the home. The homes and business in the area are just awesome. Our room was excellent! Very quiet, felt like home. Love the kitchen area, to go out and roam free in. Your hospitality was so nice. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back and will tell many of our friends. Very nice place! God Bless!

Patricia Bodey
Belvidere, IL

8/28/2012

Arrived Sunday eve August 26th at “A Touch of Home” B&B. We’re so thankful our friends recommended it from their stay in June. What a warm welcome and accommodations outstanding. Room and furnishings delightful and met all of our needs. Shared spacious kitchen and living room space a pleasant surprise and experience. Jan’s breakfasts delicious and a special time with her, Louie and other guests. A special thanks to Jan and Louie – I would gladly recommend their B&B to anyone staying in the Amana area. Very nice and clean – great service!

Darrell and Gayle Addington
Tecumseh, KS